clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

White Sox Announce Spring Training Broadcast Schedule

New, 5 comments

One of our favorite features about the new Comcast Sports Net last year was the increased spring training coverage. Looks like they'll be doing it agian this year. You'll finally get to see Jerry Owens in action.

[Chisox. com]

The World Series Champion Chicago White Sox, Comcast SportsNet, WGN-TV/Superstation WGN and WSCR Radio (670 AM) have announced the team's 2006 spring training broadcast schedule.

For the second straight season, the White Sox will televise 20 Cactus League games (18 on Comcast SportsNet and two on WGN), which ranks second behind 2005 as the most extensive spring training TV broadcast schedule in major-league history. WSCR, the club's new flagship radio station, will air 15 spring training games.

Comcast SportsNet's first White Sox spring telecast will be Wednesday, March 8 at 2:05 p.m. when the Sox face the Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim in Tempe. In addition to 18 live telecasts against Arizona, Colorado, Kansas City, Milwaukee, San Diego, San Francisco, Seattle and Texas, Comcast SportsNet will replay 11 games at 7:00 p.m. the same evening.

WGN-TV/Superstation WGN will present two Cactus League games, starting with the club's first televised spring matchup on Saturday, March 4 at 1:05 p.m. when the White Sox host the Arizona Diamondbacks at Tucson Electric Park. WGN also will broadcast the Saturday, March 18 White Sox vs. Chicago Cubs contest at 2:05 p.m.

Ken "Hawk" Harrelson and Darrin Jackson will team in the television booth for all 20 televised spring training games.

Full schedule after the jump
Day Date Opponent Radio TV Time Wednesday March 1 COLORADO WSCR 670 2:05 p.m. Thursday March 2 ARIZONA (ss) WSCR 670 2:05 p.m. Thursday March 2 at Colorado (ss) 2:05 p.m. Friday March 3 at Arizona 2:05 p.m. Saturday March 4 ARIZONA WGN 1:05 p.m. Sunday March 5 at Arizona WSCR 670 2:05 p.m. Monday March 6 at Colorado 2:05 p.m. Tuesday March 7 OAKLAND 2:05 p.m. Wednesday March 8 at LA Angels WSCR 670 CSN 2:05 p.m. Thursday March 9 SEATTLE CSN* 2:05 p.m. Friday March 10 SAN FRANCISCO CSN 2:05 p.m. Saturday March 11 at San Diego WSCR 670 2:05 p.m. Sunday March 12 LA ANGELS WSCR 670 CSN* 2:05 p.m. Monday March 13 at Oakland 2:05 p.m. Tuesday March 14 ARIZONA WSCR 670 CSN* 2:05 p.m. Wednesday March 15 at Colorado WSCR 670 CSN 2:05 p.m. Friday March 17 TEXAS CSN* 2:05 p.m. Saturday March 18 CUBS WSCR 670 WGN 2:05 p.m. Sunday March 19 at Milwaukee CSN* 2:05 p.m. Monday March 20 at Kansas City WSCR 670 CSN* 2:05 p.m. Tuesday March 21 SAN DIEGO WSCR 670 CSN* 2:05 p.m. Wednesday March 22 COLORADO WSCR 670 CSN 2:05 p.m. Thursday March 23 at Texas CSN 2:05 p.m. Friday March 24 at Seattle 2:05 p.m. Saturday March 25 at San Fran WSCR 670 CSN 2:05 p.m. Sunday March 26 KANSAS CITY CSN* 2:05 p.m. Monday March 27 at Cubs WSCR 670 2:05 p.m. Tuesday March 28 at Arizona CSN* 2:05 p.m. Wednesday March 29 MILWAUKEE CSN* 2:05 p.m. Thursday March 30 COLORADO WSCR 670 CSN* 1:05 p.m. Friday March 31 at Atlanta (Turner Field) 6:05 p.m. Saturday April 1 at Atlanta (Turner Field) CSN 12:05 p.m.
All games are Central Standard Time. Dates and times subject to change. Home dates in CAPS.

(ss) - split squad game
* - games to be replayed on Comcast SportsNet at 7:00 p.m. CST