clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

SBN Awards: Rookie Of The Year

New, comments

Mike Trout and Bryce Harper have little competition as baseball's best newcomers.

Leyson Septimo was a rookie this year.
Leyson Septimo was a rookie this year.
Rick Osentoski-US PRESSWIRE

Throughout this week, Major League Baseball will announce its major award winners on MLB Network.

If you can't wait until 5 p.m. for their announcements, you can get a jump on the discussion as SB Nation hands out its awards, as voted on by us team bloggers.

It starts today with Rookie of the Year, which really isn't much of a discussion. Mike Trout won it unanimously, and why wouldn't he? He only hit .326/.399/.564 with 30 homers, 49 steals and Gold Glove-caliber play in center.

Bryce Harper had a little more competition, but barely. He lived up to the enormous hype surrounding him by hitting .270/.340/.477 as a 19-year-old for the NL East-winning Nationals.

The full results:

American League

Player Team 1st 2nd 3rd Points
Mike Trout Los Angeles Angels 26 130
Yu Darvish Texas Rangers 16 7 55
Yoenis Cespedes Oakland Athletics 9 10 37
Jarrod Parker Oakland Athletics 1 6 9
Jesus Montero Seattle Mariners 1 1
Matt Moore Tampa Bay Rays 1 1
Wei-Yin Chen Baltimore Orioles 1 1

National League

Player Team 1st 2nd 3rd Points
Bryce Harper Washington Nationals 26 9 157
Wade Miley Arizona Diamondbacks 8 21 5 108
Todd Frazier Cincinnati Reds 1 4 9 26
Norichika Aoki Milwaukee Brewers 14 14
Zack Cozart Cincinnati Reds 1 2 5
Andrelton Simmons Atlanta Braves 1 1
Anthony Rizzo Chicago Cubs 1 1
Lucas Harrell Houston Astros 1 1
Mike Fiers Milwaukee Brewers 1 1
Yasmani Grandal San Diego Padres 1 1