clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

BBWAA pitches a shutout; nobody gets call to Hall

For the first time since 1996, nobody received enough votes for enshrinement.


The smoke has cleared and the writers have spoken. None of the players on perhaps the greatest, and most certainly the most talked about, ballot of all time are going to be in Cooperstown come July.

Craig Biggio led all vote getters with 68.2% of the vote, 39 shy of election. Jack Morris finished with 67.7% and now enters his final year on the ballot.

Jeff Bagwell (59.6%), Mike Piazza (57.8%) and Tim Raines (52.2%) were the other three players to net over half of the votes.

Lee Smith came in with 47.8%, dipping back under half after being over that number a year ago.

The steroid guys didn't fare very well. Roger Clemens checked in with 37.6% and Barry Bonds had 36.2% on their first year in the ballot. Mark McGwire (16.9%), Sammy Sosa (12.5%) and Rafael Palmeiro (8.8%) are far behind the other two.

Also staying on the ballot is Curt Schilling (38.8%), Edgar Martinez (35.9%), Alan Trammell (33.6%), Larry Walker (21.6%), Fred McGriff (20.7%) and Don Mattingly (13.2%).

Dale Murphy, who was in his final year of eligibility, scored 18.6%. He is now in the hands of the veterans committee.

The most surprising guys not to get the 5% necessary to stay on the ballot were Bernie Williams (3.3%) and Kenny Lofton (3.2%).

Things aren't going to get any easier next year for these guys as Frank Thomas, Greg Maddux, Tom Glavine, Mike Mussina and Jeff Kent are hitting the ballot for the first time.