clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Baines and Belle denied the Hall of Fame

Selig and Schuerholz are elected to the Hall of Fame. The Ford C. Frick Award, with Hawk Harrelson on the ballot, will be announced later this week.

Chicago White Sox Photo Day Photo by Harry How/Getty Images

The White Sox were shut out again by the era committees. This year, Harold Baines and Albert Belle both missed election to the Hall of Fame by the Today’s Game Era Committee. Both received fewer than five votes out of the 12 required to get into the Hall of Fame.

In a different result from recent years, the Today’s Game Era Committee elected both John Schuerholz and Bud Selig to the Hall of Fame. They are the first to be elected by a committee since Bobby Cox, Tony LaRussa, and Joe Torre were elected by the Expansion Era Committee in December, 2013.

Schuerholz is currently the Braves president after spending 17 years as their general manager. From 1991-2005, the Braves won their division under Schuerholz. They went the the World Series four times in that period, winning in 1995. Before helping the Braves, Schuerholz was the general manager of the Royals where he built the team that won the World Series in 1985.

Selig has been involved in Milwaukee baseball since the 1960’s. He was a part owner of the Milwaukee Braves before they moved to Atlanta. After working to bring the White Sox to Milwaukee, he led a group that bought the Seattle Pilots out of bankruptcy and brought them to Milwaukee as the Brewers. He became MLB’s “interim” commissioner in 1992 and officially became commissioner in 1997. Selig retired as commissioner in 2015.

The 2017 Ford C. Frick Award will be announced on Dec. 7. Hawk Harrelson is on the ballot this year.