clock menu more-arrow no yes
Minneapolis Millers

Filed under:

Today in White Sox History: November 20

The roots of the roots of the club we love were planted.

Four years before they moved to Chicago and became the White Sox, the Minneapolis Millers won their only Western League title.
| © Minnesota Historical Society/CORBIS/Corbis via Getty Images


The Western League was formed. It was the direct forerunner to what would become the American League in 1900. The league started with seven franchises: Detroit, Sioux City, Toledo, Kansas City, Indianapolis, Grand Rapids and Minneapolis. The Minnesota franchise would eventually be moved to the South Side of Chicago by Charles Comiskey.


Miñoso and Others Deserved Better

Minnie Miñoso

Minnie Makes the Hall!

Today in White Sox History

Today in White Sox History: December 5